When you can’t be together in person, there is a new way you can spend time with your friends and family through group video calls. That new way is Facebook Messenger Rooms. The new video call platform developed by Facebook is built with privacy in mind. Facebook Messenger Rooms features are such that let you control and manage your experience.
Although there are still some default privacy settings that were designed to be consistent with what you’d expect where you create a chat room. For instance, if you create rooms through a Facebook Group, such rooms are open by default to members of that Group. To cement its stance on privacy, one of the Facebook Messenger Rooms features shows that the person who creates the room controls the settings for who can join. As well as how easy it is to find a room and also the person controls whether to enable or share a link.
Full Facebook Messenger Rooms Features
Below, we will share with you the full Facebook Messenger Rooms features so far, as other features might keep on rolling out. You can start a room from Messenger or Facebook as we mentioned in our previous article. Soon also, you’ll be able to create and join rooms from Instagram Direct, Whatsapp, and Portal too. But until then, here are the Facebook Messenger Rooms features at your disposal;
This feature allows Messenger Rooms to be locked or unlocked once a call begins. When a room is locked, no one else can join the call, except a Group admin, if the room is created through a Group on Facebook.
Removing a Participant
This is also one of the Facebook Messenger Rooms features that are totally down to the room creator. Here, the room creator can remove any unwanted participants. Perhaps the room creator removes someone from the call or someone leaves, the room will lock automatically. Thus, the room creator must unlock the call for others to join, if necessary.
Leaving the Room
Leaving the room at any time is allowed. If at any point you feel unsafe in a room, you can leave without needing anyone’s authorization. That is to say, if a room is locked, it doesn’t mean you have to stay. This, therefore means that locking a room will only stop someone from joining a call but not from leaving the room.
Reporting a Room Name
Users can report a room name or just submit feedback about a room if you believe it violated Facebook’s Community Standards. However, it is important to know that reports and feedback will not include audio or video from the room. Because the reason for encrypting your audio and videos is so that no third party or Facebook will listen to your audio or video calls.
This is another one of the important Facebook Messenger Room features that will help you keep some troublesome users out of the way. The feature lets you block someone on Facebook or Messenger who may be bothering you and Facebook won’t let them know. If you block someone, they won’t be able to join a room that you’re in and you won’t be able to join theirs anytime they logged into Facebook or Messenger.
Facebook Messenger Rooms Features on Privacy Matters
Regardless of how you use Messenger Rooms, whether through a Facebook account or as a guest, its encryption ensures that no one listens to your audio or video calls, not even Facebook.
When you call participants who are not friends with you on Facebook, they will be able to see and hear whatever you say or share in the room. However, they won’t get to have any access to your profile or information in other parts of Facebook. They can only see the information they are bound to see such as your name and public profile information on Facebook. Likewise, other information you have made public on your profile like content in a group you have joined or what you have shared publicly.
Moreover, if you are just a guest who is not logged in to Facebook, you will have to provide only a name when you join a room, The name will help other guests and the room creator identify you in a call.
Meanwhile, to ensure that any reported issue is addressed accordingly, Facebook works with outside vendors that help to reviews and address such issues and with whom they may share information. Such as rooms name and people in it but these partners are required to adhere to strict data confidentiality and security obligations.
Also, Facebook’s security team works hard to make Rooms links difficult for hackers to guess. As a result, a new link is generated every time you create a room.
How Messenger Rooms Impact Data Collection and Ads
Just like other Facebook products, they collect your data from Rooms regardless of how joined a room, either you joined through one of the Facebook apps or without logging into an account. The reason for the data collection is to provide a better User Experience. In the same way as to other Messenger features, audio and video from Rooms won’t be used to inform ads. Additionally, ads don’t show in Messenger Rooms.
Moreover, those that join a room without a Facebook account will have their data such as device and browser type, product usage information, and technical information collected. Your data will be used for a variety of purposes which include providing a better product experience and helping make Rooms safe and secure.
Because Rooms is built o Messenger, it uses the same technology to encrypt a video and audio conversation between people. However, Rooms is not end-to-end encrypted so far due to some significant challenges to providing end-to-end encryption for video calling with large groups of people. Although Facebook is working towards this one feature for Messenger and Rooms.
The Facebook Messenger Rooms features as we have seen above are indications that Facebook is all out to make your video and audio calling experience way better. There is no better news than this new Facebook feature given the current situation in the world today as regards to COVID-19. You can easily connect with family and friends while apart without needing to download anything.
Have a Question? Feel free to use our comments box below!